Making it to the beach

by julesfric

The plan was to leave Manhattan at 18:00. Then 20:00. Somehow we left at 22:30. By somehow I mean my friend Deborah was a hot mess- bags not packed. Panicked over what to pack. Trying to ran her apartment etc.

I slept about an hour in the car when the call came through that we could crash in DC for the night at a friends’.

It took us 5 hours to get to DC, which was a short stay, as we only slept for 3 hours. 6:00 and I was up, dirty chair latte in hand, Carole King
blasting, and cruise controlling at 75 mph to Wilmington, NC!

Our 13:00 arrival was well welcomed by fish sandwiches (and delicious lemon pepper fries) and Battles hospitality, as our rental home wasn’t ready yet.

20140528-095306.jpg

Straight to the beach it was!

20140528-095341.jpg

….and then straight to dinner, $2 fish tacos with Battle and her husband.

….and then straight to bed. I was exhausted.

