I <3 American capitalism

by julesfric

For all that the U.S. has working against it, retail is not one of them. This weekend was the infamous “Black Friday” weekends. For those unfamiliar with the concept, it’s the weekend (starting the Friday) after Thanksgiving. It is known as the start I the holiday shopping season and the weekend to score the best retail deals.

Fun fact, it was R. H. Macy-of Macy’s department store- that initially moved Thanksgiving to the fourth Thursday in November to increase the number of shopping days.

This year, at 9:30 pm, I headed to the Tanger outlets. I’ve learned over the years to only buy classic items or things that are ridiculously on sale. This year I did both!

I did really well, in all places, COACH. For the past 10 years, I have not been fond of coach. I preferred using my moms vintage coach over a nylon bag spewed with “C” everywhere but alas! It seems coach has picked up this distaste and releases their classics collection. (The classics are where they excel and I am in love with every bag!!)

20131201-222456.jpg

The damage? $155- a savings of $258 for a classic black bag similar but smaller to the one lost in Berlin, an amazing universal adapter with stylish case, and very soft leather gloves.

There are horror stories associated with Black Friday shoppers, but my story is all smiles.

 

 

